North Cascades Highway

Five passes in four days. One with a migraine and a flat half way up. One with my granny gear (finally!). All five with my now good friend Kristy. Spectacular views, incredible descents… I’ve not only mastered this climbing thing – I’m addicted!

So Steinbeck was all about Montana. And it sure is nice, I’ve already mentioned how impressed I was with that big blue sky.  But… well. He also said “If Montana were by the sea, or if I could live without the ocean, I would move there in an instant”. Which leads me to ask… Why not Washington!??? It’s got it all! Mountains, desert, coast, islands… Magic. It’s a wilder west than I saw in either North Dakota or Montana, it’s got some pretty impressive passes, and it’s got some of the best coastline and island communities in the world! Please forgive me Steinbeck, but I’m all about the Evergreen State.

Leave a Reply

