Closed

Its a sunny day outside. Ive closed the shutters and drawn the blinds.
I’ve tried to resurect myself today, tried to walk out the door and face it, but tears are flowing and I’m not sure i’d make a good impression.

In a month, on an island close by, Menorca, there will be a boat waiting for me. A beautiful old wooden sailing boat, capable of crossing an ocean, with a crewlist and my name on it. The excitement I can generate from that potential adventure seems so easily thwarted by bureaucracy and practicalities. Leaving my community and secure friendships here, would be half as hard if I werent denied entry to them over there.

I’m looking in the eye of an amazing opportunity, the perfect crossing crew, a dream finally coming true… and arrival on a land minus one bike and one language, without North as a way forward – towards that network I know is waiting for me. The United States of America is still closed for visiting hours.

One thought on “Closed

Leave a Reply

