Nature’s Nurture

A week or so later I found myself in ChateauBriant, a quaint little Brittany town, hugging an old friend and smiling from ear to ear. It had been a full year since I’d seen Tonio and seeing his charming big grin did my weary mind, body and soul a load of good.

Nights had been spent in caves and bus shelters, on cement floors and rocky ground, so it was with a bucket load of pleasure than I snuggled into a warm dooner and comfy mattress.

All the magical places near by were shown to me over the next week. Turquoise lakes, rough cliff faces, and of course, THE MAGIC TREE! I also got to know the regions most famous traditions up close and personal. That is, Pastis, beer, wine… actually any kind of alcohol will do. Bretagne is known as France’s biggest drinking pond.

8 days later, rested and recoupperated, I followed the road West, caught a boat, pitched my tent and didn’t see a soul for days. Time dribbled on in “Belle Ile En Mer”… a little community off the west coast, as amazing as it’s name suggests: “Beautiful Island in the Ocean”.

dsc00220

Beautiful island in the ocean... and all for myself! ha ha!

Beautiful island in the ocean... and all for myself! ha ha!

dsc002221

Leave a Reply

