Notes on Numbers

17,415. If we were talking money I’d be richer. If this number represented how many books I’ve read, I would probably be smarter. In fact, I’ve become wealthier and wiser. It is, roughly, the amount of kilometers I have spent cruising highways and byways in someone else’s vehicle. Cars of all makes and models, buses, trucks, trains, scooters… ten countries, seven languages and a dozen road companions (though more than half were trecked alone).

A french friend boasted to me recently that he had covered more than 30,000kms with his thumb. It is not the digits that interest me, but, for a laugh, I calculated my own. The experiences, friendships, smiles and lessons learnt are what keeps in my memory of course, and no symbol, mathematical or otherwise would do to express these. 248,785 is a number with more weight to me: the litres saved on petrol from hitchhiking those 17 thousand kilometers.

“If I seem to boast more than is becoming, my excuse is that I brag for humanity rather than for myself and my shortcomings and inconsistencies do not affect the truth of my statement”

For those of you who continue to insist that ‘autostop’ is dead, or dangerous, or impossible, and who refuse to hear the stories… stare into these figures, mine and others of much more grandeur, and realise the truth. If what you seek is freedom, if where you want to go is further than you can buy, if you wish to understand humanity and restore you’re faith in it… follow the dotted white line, it will take you there and beyond.

dsc00120dsc00123

2 thoughts on “Notes on Numbers

  1. Hey Lily, I love reading your blogs. I made it back to Oz this week, the trip was a breeze, got an upgrade to business class on the long hop from LA to Sydney, whoo-ie! I have your books, Travels With Charley and The Dharma Bums, they’re here whenever you want them, also the instruction manual for your video camera. Videomaker magazine had an article on your camera, they raved about it, I’ll send it to you if you like. Patrick is coming this week and Renee on Christmas to stay in the studio for a few months. Keep on tripping! love, Charles

  2. You never cease to amaze me….248,785… My dear, this is a truely magic number… very proud of you! The best part of all is that it will grow and grow with time, and with that, it shall also provide friendships and adventures in abundance… I look forward to the next time we thumb it together! =)…
    much love lover.
    xxxx

Leave a Reply

